NASHVILLE, Tenn. (August 29, 2013) – RICKY SKAGGS and BRUCE HORNSBY‘s reuniting is proving to be another major success for the two musical icons.  Yesterday Skaggs and Hornsby learned that CLUCK OL’ HEN (SKAGGS FAMILY RECORDS – released on August 20) debuted at #1 on the Billboard Bluegrass Album Chart, soaring past its competition:

1.  Cluck Ol’ Hen – Ricky Skaggs & Bruce Hornsby
2.  The Living Years – The Isaacs
3.  Love Has Come For You – Steve Martin & Edie Brickell
4.  Carry Me Back – Old Crow Medicine Show
5.  Best of Bluegrass: Collector’s Edition – Steve Ivey
6.  Deep Roots – Steven Curtis Chapman
7.  Brothers of the Highway – Dailey & Vincent
8. Hammer Down – The Steeldrivers
9.  Stars & Satellites – Trampled By Turtles
10.  Leaving Eden – Carolina Chocolate Drops
“My, how times are changin'” says Skaggs upon hearing the news.  “I’m really glad about this and I’m sure Bruce is too!”
Cluck Ol’ Hen is a fresh collection of songs from the masterful duo of Skaggs and Hornsby.  The live tunes were originally recorded when the two music icons hit the tour circuit in support of their first collaborative album, Ricky Skaggs & Bruce Hornsby. Hornsby’s spirited piano brings a new dimension to these songs, with electrifying solos and improvisation thrown in the mix of Skaggs, Hornsby and Skaggs’ band, Kentucky Thunder.
Skaggs and Hornsby hit the road this fall, embarking on the Ricky Skaggs & Bruce Hornsby with Kentucky Thunder Tour.
Cluck Ol’ Hen is available in retail stores nationwide as well as online retailers.
About Ricky Skaggs
With 12 #1 hit singles, 14 GRAMMY® Awards, eleven IBMA Awards, eight ACM Awards and eight CMA Awards (including Entertainer of the Year), Ricky Skaggs is truly a pioneer of Bluegrass and Country music.  Since he began playing music more than 50 years ago, Skaggs has released more than 30 albums and has performed thousands of live shows. Skaggs and his band, Kentucky Thunder, continue to keep the tour trail red hot, performing more than 80 live dates each year.  He started his own record label, Skaggs Family Records, in 1997 and has since released 12 consecutive GRAMMY®-nominated albums.  
Skaggs recently released his first-ever autobiography, “Kentucky Traveler.”  The book details the life and times of Skaggs and provides a descriptive history of Country and Bluegrass music, as told by the master himself.
For more information on Ricky Skaggs, visit
About Bruce Hornsby
GRAMMY® Award-winning Bruce Hornsby’s work displays a creative iconoclasm that’s been a constant in the artist’s two-and-a-half decade recording career.  His commercial stock soared early on, when “The Way It Is”–the title track of Bruce Hornsby and the Range’s 1986 debut album–became the most-played song on American radio in 1987, winning ASCAP’s “Song of the Year” award.  “The Way It Is” and subsequent hits as “Mandolin Rain” and “Every Little Kiss,” established Hornsby as popular pop act, while high- profile work with the likes of Don Henley and Huey Lewis made him an in-demand collaborator.  He’s performed more than 100 concerts with the Grateful Dead as guest keyboardist.  His work with the Dead encouraged him to incorporate improvisation into his own performances, while Hornsby’s eclectic musical interests have led to venture into a wide array of musical styles. 
For more information on Bruce Hornsby, visit